Lit!

I think it's safe to say that once you've read a book about reading, you are officially a citizen of Nerd-ville. Well, I did (read one), so I guess I am (a citizen). So what??? 🙂

I used to never read unless I was required to, which didn't happen unless I was in school (and often, not even then). About a year-and-a-half after I became a Christian, I started my first semester at Williams Baptist College. That semester I took both Old and New Testament Survey and read nearly the entire Bible in a semester. Every semester was reading intensive, and I developed a love for reading and learning, which has continued now for nearly two years after graduation, after I'm no longer required to read.

This love for reading led me to Tony Reinke's book, Lit! A Christian Guide to Reading Books. Reinke gives some excellent advice about reading, such as how to set reading priorities, how to make the most of your reading time, and tips for marking and highlighting in books. He gives advice about reading fiction and other genres and discusses the role of worldview when it comes to reading. If you want to become a better reader or if you want to start reading, give this book a shot.

 

One comment on “Lit!

  1. […] by dfinch1231   Reading Priorities   A while back I wrote a short blog about Tony Reinke's Lit! A Christian Guide to Reading Books. In the book, Reinke talks about […]

Leave a comment